No events found

About  Indiana Pacers

History of the Indiana Pacers

The Indiana Pacers franchise began back in 1967 as part of the American Basketball Association. The nickname was taken from the state's long history of racing, including the Indianapolis 500, which takes place every year at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. From 1967 until the ABA and NBA merger in 1976, the Indiana Pacers were the most successful franchise in the league. They won three championships in four appearances in the finals, leading to their selection to move to the National Basketball Association after the merger. During the first decade in their new league, the Pacers struggled to find success on the court. In 1987, the rebuilding process of the franchise landed its marquee piece when they drafted Reggie Miller out of UCLA. At first fans did not like the pick, but Miller ultimately won over the state. He became the leader of the team, which added more pieces around him to build a winner. They drafted Rik Smits and traded for Detlef Schrempf while developing more young talent. The new-look Pacers were able to qualify for the playoffs every year from 1989 through 2006 with the only exception being 1997. It all culminated in 2000, when Reggie Miller and the Pacers glided through the Eastern Conference playoffs and into the NBA Finals. Their matchup against the Los Angeles Lakers proved to be a tough one, and they lost the series four games to two. To date, it is Indiana's only appearance in the NBA Finals.


Reggie Miller retired in 2005 and forever will be synonymous with the Indiana Pacers. Playing his entire career in Indiana, he played in more games for the same team than any other player in NBA history, other than John Stockton and Karl Malone with the Utah Jazz. He finished his career with 25,279 points and made an NBA record of 2,560 three-point field goals. People with Indiana Pacers tickets on March 30, 2006, got to see Miller's #31 raised to the rafters at Bankers Life Fieldhouse (originally Conseco Fieldshouse). With Paul George joining the franchise in 2010, the Indiana Pacers had a solidified star for the first time in a long time. With David West, George Hill and Roy Hibbert, the Pacers relied heavily on defense and slower style of basketball. They were able to reach the playoffs during that stretch and were a very competitive team. The Indiana Pacers reached the Eastern Conference Semifinals and then the Eastern Conference Finals the next year before losing to the Miami Heat. After a gruesome leg injury to Paul George, the Pacers were forced into a rebuilding mode. The new core of young players has become an impressive nucleus for the now fast paced Pacers. George has since left for the Oklahoma City Thunder but that has not stopped this Pacers team from moving forward.


Most Recent Season

The 2017-18 Indiana Pacers season was the first year since 2010 without Paul George. The Pacers received Victor Oladipo as part of the trade with the Oklahoma City Thunder. Oladipo was the 2nd overall pick in the 2013 NBA Draft. He spent three years with the Orlando Magic and the one year with the Thunder before being traded to the Pacers. This is Oladipo’s return to Indiana as he played three years in college at Indiana University. Oladipo’s first season with the Pacers was his breakout year. He became a first-time NBA All-Star, lead the league in steals, was named to the All-Defensive First Team, and won the NBA Most Improved Player Award. Oladipo helped lead his team to the postseason where they met the Cleveland Cavaliers in the first round. Even in the playoffs, Oladipo played spectacularly. In Game 1 against the Cavs, Oladipo scored 32 points becoming the fourth player in Pacers history with at least 30 points and six 3-pointers in a playoff game. The Pacers pushed the series to an intense Game 7, but sadly lost 105-101. Despite lost in the First Round, the Pacers will be back with a vengeance to make a playoff run. The Pacers have only been to the NBA Finals once – back in 2000. Will this finally be the year they can return?


Upcoming Season

Oladipo and Thaddeus Young will both be returning for the 2018-19 Indiana Pacers season. The Pacers will be losing Lance Stephenson who will now be playing with the LA Lakers but will be adding many new players to their roster. Players joining the Pacers include Tyreke Evans from the Memphis Grizzlies, Doug McDermott from the Dallas Mavericks, Kyle O’Quinn from the New York Knicks, and C.J. Wilcox from the Portland Trail Blazers. Additionally, the Pacers acquired two rookies in the 2018 NBA Draft: Aaron Holiday from UCLA and Alize Johnson from Missouri State. This talented combination of athletes with Oladipo as the leader is sure to be a recipe for success in the upcoming season. The 2018-19 Indiana Pacers season will begin on October 17th at home against the Memphis Grizzlies. Throughout the season the Pacers will continuously have to face their division rivals including the Cleveland Cavaliers, Milwaukee Bucks, Detroit Pistons, and Chicago Bulls. Other notable rivalries of the Pacers are the New York Knicks and Miami Heat. Where will you be when the Pacers return to powerhouse status in the Eastern Conference and compete for a title? TicketNetwork is your access to all Indiana Pacers tickets. Check out our vast selection of Indiana Pacers tickets and grab yours today!